Fashion

35. Leather vs. Suede Boots

If you guys have been keeping up, you know I went to Cincinnati this past weekend. I’m always so exhausted the Mondays after I get back. I need to figure out a way to change that.

Anyways.. my boyfriend and my roommate, Erin’s boyfriend are both students at UC so we went to the homecoming football game. It was super fun and super cold.

This homecoming intro was pretty awesome and because I know you are all dying to know, UC played Miami and beat them 52-14.

The student section was a white out, so obviously we had to dress accordingly which was really hard considering how many layers we had to wear.

After the football game we celebrated Tyler’s roommate, Matt’s birthday! This is probably the most perfect picture we have ever taken together so I, of course, had to share.

Here’s a breakdown of my outfit:

This outfit is definitely one of my cold weather favorites, because it can so easily transition from Friday at the office to night and weekend wear.

The sweater/jean combo is always a great look for fall. This light tan cowl neck sweater can also be dressed up with brown dress pants or a skirt and tights. (The Loft – $45) I like it with my skinny jeans to keep the outfit casual and comfortable. (Macy’s – American Rag, similar here for $49)

You can tell these are one of my favorite pairs of shoes, can’t you? They are just so perfect in the fall with the weather and color palette. I try to mix it up, but these are a common denominator and will keep coming back. (Steve Madden-similar style here for $42.50) Also seen in my posts here and here.

I think the coolest part about this outfit is my necklace. You guys have seen my celtic knot necklace previously, but the watch necklace is the one I’m talking about. This long chain sparrow accented pocket watch necklace is so unique. I got it at the Chicago Renegade Craft Fair and for the life of me cannot remember the artist that I bought it from, but they had so many other interesting pieces as well.

Tuesday:

Today I made one of the best decisions ever, to run on my lunch at work. I work right at the beginning of the Magnificent Mile downtown and if I run to North Ave., which is exactly 1 mile, there is this little park that is gorgeous. I ran there and do some ab and toning workouts then ran back. It was the perfect workout. I felt so refreshed when I came back to my office and reenergized to finish my day – no 2:30 afternoon drag today.

Workout:

-Run 2 miles

-Tricep Dips: 3 sets of 10 or 2 sets of 15

-Push Ups: 2 sets of 10

-50 Walking Lunges

-30 Standing Squats

-Reverse Crunches (see here for how-to) 3 sets of 15. You can also move your legs opposite the way this work out describes which I did 3 sets of 15 on those as well.

-Ab Jackknife & Twist: 3 sets of 15 (see here for how-to)

For more of my workouts check out my board : Health & Fitness

I had to make the workout quick since I only had a 1 hour lunch break to do that and eat, but this is definitely do-able in 30-45 minutes depending on rest breaks.

Now, when I wasn’t in my workout gear this is my outfit for the office. Lately I’ve been waking up and all I want is to be cozy so I opted for leggings and a sweater dress.

I feel kind of like a child in this navy blue knit sweater dress/jumper, but I don’t care I love it. (Nordstrom – BP, similar here for $69.50) I got this outfit for Christmas a while ago and it is still as cute and comfy as it was the day I got it. The grey knit long sleeve top and grey leggings were also part of the gift since the dress is see-through without them. (Nordstrom – BP)

Clearly, I could not wear my go-to brown leather boots with this outfit. I opted instead for my slouchy black suede boots. (Nine West – $30) I added some grey patterned boot socks for extra comfort and coziness. (Urban Outfitters – $11, similar styles here)

In my opinion, silver looks best with grey and navy so I wore a long silver chain necklace and some silver bangles. I’m pretty sure the necklace was also a gift with this outfit, but I have had it for so long I don’t remember. The bracelets are from a thrift store, the only place I can get them to actually fit apparently. I think they add a nice touch to the outfit.

Thanks for reading! I hope everyone feels inspired by my workout and beautiful fall picture to get outside and enjoy the weather with a run.

xoxo,

T

5 thoughts on “35. Leather vs. Suede Boots

  1. Pingback: 56. Holiday Outfit Inspiration + Cozy Sweaters | Victoria

  2. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a
    very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more
    often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

    • Thank you so much ! I really appreciate that feedback, you are so sweet. I actually used a pre-created theme through WordPress and input everything myself. I love the clean look of it, I thought it would be something very simple and easy so I’m glad you agree.

  3. Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design.
    Superb choice of colors!

  4. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time to
    be happy. I have read this publish and if I may I
    want to counsel you few interesting issues or advice.
    Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to
    this article. I desire to learn even more things approximately it!

Leave a Reply

