Fashion

37. Grunge is Back

The Paris runways were filled with an updated grunge look from designer Dries Van Noten. Fashions and styling drew inspiration from Kurt Cobain and Courtney Love. See here for some pictures of the looks with some hair & make-up tips to match via Women’s Wear Daily. Obviously with the new military boot, chambray and plaid fashions-grunge is back at least for a bit. It’s even being seen in plaid looks from the red carpet – see here for slideshow. I must say I am a fan, especially of Rashida Jones’ look! Who knew plaid could be so chic?

Now I can’t say I like it enough to get my hair greased up and add in some dark roots, like the Van Noten models did, but who says grunge style can’t be cleaned up just a bit.

Obviously, military boots are a staple for this outfit. I love these ones, as you’ve seen in my post here. They’re just amazing and still cannot get over how comfortable they are. (DSW – Madden Girl here for $59.95) I wore dark brown leggings to match the sweater and added in some long blue topped socks to give just a pop of color to break up the browns. (Leggings: Wet Seal $15; Socks: Nordstrom Rack – Betsey Johnson)

Had to class the outfit up with my gold pearlized face watch (Nordstrom Rack – DKNY $75) and these awesome orange and gold leaf earrings. (Vintage)

This is by far my favorite place to go for a view of the skyline. Today on my lunch I ran to the Nature Boardwalk by the Lincoln Park Zoo , 1 1/2 miles from my office. I love the changing fall colors, especially when you can get a great view of them like this. It’s amazing how you can go from complete city life and just outside of that get so much nature. One of the reasons I love Chicago!

Workout:

3 mile run

7 Best Exercises for Lower Abs

-Calf Raises: 3 sets of 20

-Tricep Dips: 3 sets of 15

I made my run a bit longer to up my cardio, but had to cut some of my toning out in order to make it back to the office in time. Even with a short work out you can definitely make it an effective one if you really concentrate and do the right exercises. The other day I found this link to seven exercises for lower abs, the hardest place to get and a major trouble area for females. These exercises are definitely hard, especially numbers two and six but are so worth it. I had to adjust a few of them a bit since I was in the park and not a gym.

Adjustments:

#5: Twist Crunches – Supposed to be done on a decline bench, which I obviously did not have. To replace this one, I did bicycle crunches.

#6: Sitting Leg Lifts – This move is amazing in the gym, one of my favorites. Since I wasn’t able to use any machines I replaced this move with Sprinter Crunches. These are another of my go-to moves. They’re extremely effective if done correctly and targets every part of your abs.

For more fitness moves and health tips follow me on Pinterest: Health & Fitness

Thanks for reading!

xoxo,

T

Leave a Reply

