Book Club / Chicago

76. Must Reads: Bossypants

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Must Read BookWhile on my nice little vacation from work for the holidays I finished Tina Fey’s Bossypants as you saw previously that I started reading it. The short version of my review, is that I absolutely loved it, but if you’re more interested here’s the long version.

The whole book was light-hearted and fun, overall an easy read. It started out with a story of young Tina Fey moving to Chicago with her family. I thought this part of the bio was great, because it opened the readers up to a part of Fey that they hadn’t seen before and her humor about herself was hilarious. I also really liked the beginning because I could easily relate to moving to a new city and recognize all the neighborhoods she talked about.

After which she talked about her segue in to Second City life and her road to comedy at SNL. Her in-depth view and hilarious details of long nights working at the famous Second City were just great. We always see the people who come out of Second City and the funny things that they do on stage in their skits, but you never know what’s going on behind the scenes. By how popular the likes of Fey and Amy Poehler are today as leading ladies of comedy, you would never guess the tough start they had competing with males for the spotlight. This perspective makes it all the more amazing how successful they are today in overcoming a male dominated work scene as many struggle to still do today.

There were overlapping parts with SNL and 30 Rock where Fey went back to perform with Poehler as Sarah Palin. This part was hilarious to see from start to finish, because I specifically remember watching those episodes. The back story and thoughts from each of them make the skits all the more funny.

The only negative aspect of the book, for me at least was the part about 30 Rock. While I find the show hilarious and love to see Fey come out on top with starting her own show, since I haven’t seen every episode this part was a bit confusing. It jumped around a bit too much with the storyline and didn’t flow as well as the life story, Second City and SNL aspects. There were parts where she put script from specific guest writers that was just confusing to me as I didn’t know the context or episode just by a few lines. For avid watchers of the show this might have been a really cool part to see an in-depth view, but it just wasn’t for me. Luckily, it was a very small section of the book.

I know I’m a bit behind the curve on finally reading the book, but for those of you that still haven’t read it I definitely recommend it!

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Must Read Book List - MWF Seeking BFFMy next read is MWF Seeking BFF which is about a woman seeking a new best friend in Chicago, everything from friend dates to random Meet-Ups. Even though I have a great group of friends that I’ve made through school, I work in a very small office (me and one other person) so I don’t get to meet many other people as young professionals usually do. I’m curious to read about Rachel Bertsche’s journey to finding new friends in a new city.

What’s on your must read list?

XO Victoria

P.S. I am now a part of the Chicago Blogger Network so get ready for some reviews of great local events! Also, you can now follow me on Bloglovin, be sure to check it out and subscribe.

2 thoughts on “76. Must Reads: Bossypants

Leave a Reply

