Art / Chicago / Fashion

87. Neat Whiskey Vessels & Weekend Update

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Lillstreet Art CenterMy parents were in town for the weekend (yay!) and since we’re all whiskey lovers we headed over to Lillstreet Art Center on Friday night.

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Neat Whiskey Vessel NightThere the current exhibit, “Neat: The Art of the Whiskey Vessel,” was just opening so they held a free event. They had live music, whiskey vessels and of course whiskey tastings provided by Koval Distillery. Unfortunately, there was only one type of whiskey to taste which was a bit disappointing but they also had Goose Island Bourbon Ale (delicious, who knew?) and traditional 312.

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: 312 Table at LillstreetThe decor throughout the showroom was all handmade and really cool. I loved the uniqueness of each artist’s style.

Here’s a few of my favorite vessels from the night:

Whiskey Vessel 1

Whiskey Vessel 3

Whiskey Vessel 2

Whiskey Tasting - Love the set upThe barrel set up was my favorite, each of these vessels were so different and really abstract.

My Outfit:

Victoria's a Shoe a Day Abstract Print Dress & Neon BeltWhen going to an artsy event, your outfit must be equally unique. I love my abstract print a-line dress from the Jockey/Zoe Launch Party I attended in LA.

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Abstract Print Dress/Neon BeltI decided to give my outfit a completely different look by adding just a pop of neon with my added belt. (similar here at Target) It takes the dress from classic to unique which was perfect for the Lillstreet Art Center. (Macy’s – Petticoat Alley $80)

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Nine West BootiesFor a great winter look my black leather booties are perfect paired with the dress. (Nine West – similar here for $129)

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Yellow Neon earringsInstead of going the neutral route, I matched my earrings to my bright yellow belt with these brightly colored chandeliers. (Forever 21)

Saturday:

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: snake trendI joined in on the newest up and coming snake trend. I found this beaut at the Randolph St. Vintage Market and am in love with it. The unique turquoise color paired with gold scrolls and gems is just amazing. (Randolph St. Market – $30) It was my first time attending the market and it was super fun! There are some really amazing and unique pieces there.

*my post tomorrow will feature my other favorite purchase. (hint: winter white)

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Emporium Arcade - Day Drinking Attire After the ladies (mom, Tay and Erin) went shopping, we met the boys at Emporium Arcade Bar. This is the second Saturday in two weeks that I’ve spent at Emporium and I love it. It’s super fun during the day because it’s not as packed so it’s easier to get in on the good games. (read: Galaga)

Outfit for shopping & gaming:

For a casual Saturday outfit you can never go wrong with a dress, boots and scarf.

Dress: Forever 21 – similar style here for $22.50 and another here for $12.50.

Sweater: J. Crew – Classic Merino Long Cardigan here for $49.99. Also, seen in my post here.

Scarf: I really have no idea how I accumulated a lot of my scarves, most of them my mom gives to me. Here’s a very similar scarf at Target for $14.50.

Boots: Steve Madden-similar style here for $42.50

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Black Dress & Neon BeltSaturday night my parents, Ryan, Elena, Tyler and I went to Embeya in the West Loop for dinner. I wish I would have taken pictures, but it wouldn’t do justice to how amazing everything was. My favorites were the mussels with coconut and lime broth, and the pasta with bay scallops. Everything was just delicious.

Apparently Tyler and I were in to matching that night with his shirt and my belt. *don’t mind Erin photo bombing.

Dinner Outfit:

Dress: black a-line dress with cinched waist and tulle overlay. (similar here with sequined top – BB Dakota $57)

Belt: neon yellow (similar here at Target)

Shoes: black wedge booties (Buffalo Exchange)

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Ladies Night Out + TylerAfter dinner we met back up with these lovely ladies and some old college friends. Had an absolute blast catching up with everyone!

Hope everyone else had a fantastic weekend as well. Thanks for reading!

XO Victoria

Leave a Reply

