Chicago / Fashion / Holidays / Imerman Angels / Non Profit Community

91. Red Hott Date Night & New Booties

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Red Hott Date NightSaturday was mine and Tyler’s belated Valentine’s day date. We started out the night at B.L.U.E.S on Halsted, which was so much fun! That night Lurrie Bell was performing and then Big Time Sarah joined the band up on stage. They have a different performer each night of the week with shows every day. There was a lot of crowd interaction and the dive-y atmosphere of the bar made it even more fun. We had a Groupon for $15 which covered admission and our first round of drinks. Their beer selection is very limited since it’s a small joint, so I recommend getting a mixed drink especially with the Groupon as you can select your liquor. I can’t wait to go back again for some awesome jams!

Victoria's a Shoe a Day Red Hott Date Night2

After the blues bar we had reservations at the Pump Room in PUBLIC Chicago Hotel. We started off with some pretzel dusted calamari with mustard aioli which was delicious, so it gave us promise for the meal to be just as great. I ordered the Lobster Ravioli (as pictured above) and Tyler ordered the Lake Superior White Fish with Lemon Aioli, we shared the crispy polenta on the side. The ravioli was delicious and literally jam-packed with lobster, but there was definitely something lacking. There was no sauce which made the dish really dry and a bit flavorless, so needless to say I was a bit disappointed. Mine being too dry, Tyler had the opposite problem, his whitefish was sitting in a pool of lemon juice which completely over saturated the fish and made it far too sour. The crispy polenta was delicious, but to be honest it’s hard to screw up fried polenta. The menu selection was a bit limited and even though I’m an adventurous food goer there were not many options that were completely appetizing to me, not to mention as with any hotel restaurant the prices were far too steep for what you get. I wouldn’t recommend the restaurant, nor would I choose to go there again, but the bar scene on a Saturday was hopping so apparently it’s better for that.

Date Night Outfit:

Favorite red dress: I am in love with this dress. The color, shape and simple detailed cut outs are perfect and the light weight cotton material makes it super comfortable. A perfect Valentine’s date dress. (Pitaya – $35)

Favorite black pumps: These are the best since they have a unique shape from a traditional black pump. Simple changes and updates to a classic style are what I look for in my staple wardrobe pieces. (Aldo – $80)

Accessories: simple black bangles and glammed out pewter & diamond chandelier earrings

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Lula CafeWe also went to brunch with Erin, Holly and Nathan at Lula Cafe. I recommend getting there early, as with many brunch places the Logan Square hot spot gets pretty packed. However, I must say the food was well worth the wait. We sat at the bar waiting for our table and had some delicious Bloody Marys, ask for them to be extra spicy. Since our wait was so long we got a complimentary plate of house pastries which is always a really nice touch for the restaurant to show their customer’s appreciation. My favorite was the Meyer Lemon Cake. (far right) Then for my entrée I got the Almond Poppy Seed Hotcakes Topped with Apples, Pomegranate and Lemon Curd. It was so yummy and not too sweet which is exactly how I like a breakfast meal. I have heard some great things about their dinner as well, so I can’t wait to go back and try out some other dishes!

Monday Outfit:

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Country StyleI am obsessed with these new booties I got on Friday, you will probably be seeing a lot of them.

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Jessica Simpson BootiesI love everything about them, I think my favorite part is the two-tone material with leather and suede. The combination is so chic and unique. (Macy’s – Jessica Simpson $139 on sale for $60) These chevron striped tights are also a really fun addition to the outfit. It adds a bit to the understated look. (Hue)

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Country Style2*sorry for the blurriness!

I paired my booties with my super cute and comfortable jean dress. (Macy’s – American Rag) Chambray is a huge trend right now and I love it as a dress. I layered the dress with my long tan cardigan and added a simple leather belt. (Marshall’s)

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Leaf Earrings & Gold NecklaceI wore my favorite gold accessories with this outfit, my leaf earrings and 3-charm necklace. (Thrift Store & Allie M Designs)

Fundraising Update: I wanted to update everyone, I am now almost to my fundraising goal for my race with Team Imerman Angels!! I can’t say it enough, but thank you to everyone who has supported me on this journey by donating or spreading the word about my cause. I couldn’t do this without the support of my amazing friends and family. If you haven’t gotten a chance to check out my fundraising page yet, please do so here and donate/share with your friends and family to ensure no one faces cancer alone! If you’d like more information on how you can get involved with Imerman Angels, please feel free to email me we are always looking for new volunteers and cancer survivors, fighters and caregivers to get involved in the community.

Thanks for reading and Happy Monday everyone!

XO Victoria

Leave a Reply

