Book Club / Fashion / Fitness / Non Profit Community

97. Book Club: The Fault in Our Stars

“As he read, I fell in love like you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” 

-John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Must Read Book - The Fault in Our StarsThis quote describes perfectly how I fell in love with this book. At first Hazel is a “depressed” teenage girl (according to her mother) living with terminal lung cancer, but when she meets a young survivor Augustus Waters, she begins to regain her hope for a normal life filled with love. Hazel and Augustus’ love story is so unique and so powerful, without regard to what may happen to each of them. While the story is so heartwarming and happy at points, there are also many sad moments. After one point, I was tearing up all the way to the end. There are many parts of the book that I can so easily relate to and remember from my own family’s struggles with cancer. The descriptions paint such a strong portrait of a cancer patient and that was a struggle for me to read, but it was amazing to read such a real portrayal. I read the book so quickly, and once I finished all I could think was that I wanted to read it again. Jodi Picoult describes the roller coaster of emotions perfectly, “Electric…filled with staccato bursts of humor and tragedy.” This couldn’t be more true, I think I felt almost every emotion while reading this book. I fell in love with the characters and was really sad when I was finished reading. I originally rented the book from the library, but will be buying it so that I can read it again and again.

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Must Read Book - RoomNext on my must read list, courtesy of a recommendation from my friend Melanie, is Room by Emma Donoghue. I’m a bit nervous about this one as it’s told from the perspective of a 5-year-old so I feel I might have some difficulty getting through it. It’s about a mom and her son who live underground in a room built by a man who took “Ma” captive nine years ago. The only thing Jack knows is Room and doesn’t even know there is a world outside. I think it will be a great story and I look forward to seeing the outcome, let’s hope I can decipher the dialogue a bit!

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Nike Free RunsToday being a gorgeous day in Chicago, I took advantage of the weather and went for a run.

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Chicago WinterSometimes I think I want to live in a warmer city on the West Coast,

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Chicago Winterbut then I’m reminded exactly why I love my city.

Victoria's a Shoe a Day: Charity MilesI got so wrapped up in the scenery I ran just over 6 miles. Using the amazing, Charity Miles app my run went towards Stand Up To Cancer providing them with 15:27 minutes of cancer research. This app is my favorite for running because you can directly benefit a charity that you support with something you already do daily.

Happy Sunday!

XO Victoria

Leave a Reply

